top of page

learning to sit with what I don't know...


I have been visiting Haiti for years…

I “know” Haiti.

I know: the heat that hits when you step off the airplane, the traffic that winds on and on through PAP, the hustling and bustling of the cities, the quiet and calm of the country, the smells of diesel and burning charcoal, the deep blue of the ocean, the green grass on the mountains, the colorful homes stacked almost one atop the other, the dogs and chickens wandering the streets.

Is this the Haiti you know?

I know: mothers who struggle to provide food for a daily meal, fathers who labor in fields to bring vegetables to market, grandparents who wake before dawn to walk to church to pray for mercy and abundance, teens who march in the streets to bring awareness to the plight of the poor, and children who read by candlelight (or phone light!) with hungry bellies in the hopes of breaking free of this seemingly unbreakable cycle of poverty.

Is this the Haiti you know?

I don’t know: the solution to poverty in Haiti, what is best for Haiti, if NGO’s should stay or leave Haiti,

God’s plan for Haiti.

Do you?

As I walk tonight, with the moon rising above me and Haiti, I will pray for guidance. I will pray for humility. I will pray for Haiti. Won’t you join me?


bottom of page