top of page

A light to my path...


Lascahobas…

Have you ever said the name of a place you had visited before and felt transported there? Maybe it is the movement of your lips or the sound of your voice but, you are magically transported to…Lascahobas, Haiti. Let the word roll off your tongue… Do you feel the angels of time and memory whisking you there? Or maybe a name of another place…Hinche, Mirebalais, Thomassique, Gonaïves, Croix-des-Bouquets, Jacmel, Jérémie?

I say “Lascahobas” and I am there. I can hear the music of the church choir singing. The melody floods my memory and overpowers my mind. I can feel the heat of the sun on my face, arms, and legs. I can feel the sweat running down my back. The roosters are crowing and the dogs are fighting. The taptaps and motorcycles whiz by me. I can feel the rush of the air as they pass. I can feel the dust and rocks underneath my feet.

Immerse yourself in your special memory of a place in Haiti. Say it. Hear it. Think it. Feel It. Today, as you walk and think about Haiti…be transported.

Your word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.

Psalms 119:105


bottom of page